Tuesday, 3. April 2018
Meet László Hajba, Coordinator of the Hungarian delegation

Hello everybody! My name is László Hajba (Laci), and I’m new to PeaceCamp. I took the role of coordinator for my school from Szilvia this year, but she is still helping me from the background.
In my professional life I’m a freelance language teacher and educational consultant, and also an openly gay teacher in a secondary school in Budapest. I care deeply about equality, tolerance and freedom of speech and thought, and I bring these issues to my lessons as well. I am also a committee member of the Global Issues Special Interest Group of IATEFL (International Association of Teachers of English as a Foreign Language) where we promote awareness and understanding of global issues to exchange ideas on integrating peace education, human rights education, development education, and environmental education into English language teaching. It is for teachers who see themselves as educators in addition to teaching the language and who are keen to bring real-world issues into the classroom, instil a sense of social responsibility and develop critical thinking skills.
In my personal life I’m an avid gamer (board games and video games alike), runner, sci-fi fan (especially Doctor Who) and computer geek. I’m looking forward to getting to know all of you in July.

Comment